top of page

R. Moss Hampton, M.D.


Dr. R. Moss Hampton is a native of West Texas and has lived throughout the area. He received his medical degree at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center (TTUHSC) in Lubbock and completed his residency training in Obstetrics and Gynecology there as well. After completing his residency training he spent 11 years as a generalist OB/GYN physician in Flagstaff, Arizona and Pampa, Texas. In 1995 he began his academic career with TTUSHC in Amarillo, Texas. In 2006 he moved to Odessa, Texas to become Chair of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology for TTUHSC of the Permian Basin, where he worked for 13 years. He retired in January, 2019. He has a longstanding association with organized medicine. He has been a Fellow of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) since 1988. He was involved in the formation of District XI (Texas) of in 2007. He served as Chair of ACOG District XI from 2013-16. He has also been an active member of the Texas Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (TAOG), serving as President of that organization in 2005, and of the Texas Medical Association. He currently serves on the Texas Medical Association Foundation Board, the Maternal-Child Health Committee for the Texas March of Dimes, the Texas Collaborative for Healthy Mothers and Babies, and the Texas Campaign to Prevent Teen pregnancies. He has been married to his wife, Denise, for 37 years. They have two daughters and two grandchildren.

bottom of page